About ISS rescue

Your team comes to take the place of the International space station‘s (ISS) crew. You also bring two new units, inside your space shuttle, that you have to dock on the ISS. This mission should be easy. However in space everything can turn in a few second !

  • a collaborative mission in which the players can talk to each other
  • until 40 minutes of game according to the players’ dexterity
  • from one to six players dans une session de jeu
  • a backoffice for managing unlimited game sessions at the same time

Manager

I – WAY # https://www.i-reality.fr/ 
-> Location at Lyon (18 rooms)
-> Location at Paris (20 rooms)

Issues


I-Way, is an indoor game area specialized on top of the range simulators (car, bike, plane, escape game) to BtoB and BtoC . The company has wanted to expand his range with a new virtual reality activity.

ISS Rescue is the first game of this new departement. Several goals guided the design : technology to be in sync with the DNA of the company, an extraordinary and inaccessible place but real, a realistic adventure in which everything is true, a high-quality graphic design but very maximized, a collaborative experience.

The experience


The cinema was our first inspirationwith movies such as Gravity and Appollo 13. Their scenarios were very efficient and easy to understand.Our main purpose was to get a high pace and to accentuate the feelings.

To reach this goal we worked on different ways. The music is very important for creating athmospheres and intensifying the feelings. We also wrote a very diversified scenario for keeping the players’ focus. First quiet moments for testing the tools and understanding the situation. Then a contemplation time in front of a sunrise. And suddendly the disaster. After that the “stress” set in during the emergency repairs. In the same way, the gameplay gameplay mix precision, agility, thought, shoot. The purpose is to offer a very rich adventure on all fronts.

The moving of the player was another concern. It have to be natural and without motion sickness.We used different methods to reach this goal : control of speed moving, comfort of the path with a system of spline which marks the way to go.

Obviously the graphic design quality was also at the centre of our attention for offering the best immersion we could do. As always,Unreal Engine is our favorite partner for its high-capacity. But beauty is nothing without performance. And the target of 90 fps was achieved ! An essential way to avoid motion sickness too.

Technically, the game works on a local computer network for assuring security and stability.The sofware components for a web network already exist but not for a local network. Therefore we had to develop new software components specially for local use.

The backoffice


It is the hidden part of the iceberg but so much strategic. Indeed the I-way’s project is characterized by ahuge using and maximal flexibility need. 18 rooms can be used in the same time and the crews can be from one to six players. : 18 boxs pouvant tourner en même temps avec des combinaisons d’équipe aléatoires de 1 à 6 joueursSo we developed a backoffice made to measure which works also on the local network.

It allows to create and start the game sessions. The game manager can enter in the session for helping a player who needs help. It also manages the stock of computing equipment : turn on, turn off, hours of use. This software is the cornerstorn of this daily intense using.

 

System Requirements
Game Details
Game Poster
Poster

tetxte de  détail  poster

Languages
en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)
Login
Loading...
Sign Up

New membership are not allowed.

Loading...

A propos de ISS rescue

Votre équipe vient relever l’équipage de la Station Spatiale Internationale (ISS). Dans votre navette, vous apportez également deux nouveaux modules à arrimer à l’ISS. Une mission qui ne devrait poser aucun problème. Mais dans l’espace, tout peut basculer en quelques secondes !

  • mission collaborative où les joueurs peuvent se parler
  • jusqu’à 40 minutes de jeu selon la dextérité des équipes
  • de 1 à 6 joueurs dans une session de jeu
  • backoffice de gestion des sessions pour un nombre simultané illimité

Exploitant

I – WAY # https://www.i-reality.fr/ 
-> site de Lyon (18 boxs)
-> site de Paris (20 box)

Enjeux


I-Way, salle de loisir indoor BtoB et BtoC spécialisé dans les simulations haut de gamme (auto, moto, avion, escape game), a souhaité enrichir sa proposition d’un département dédié à la réalité virtuelle.

ISS rescue est le premier opus de cette nouvelle offre de jeu vidéo VR à vivre sur place. Plusieurs objectifs constituant le brief de départ ont guidé sa réalisation : une approche technologique pour être en phase avec l’ADN de la société + un lieu extraordinaire et inaccessible mais qui existe + une expérience réaliste où tout doit être justifiable + une qualité visuelle irréprochable tout en étant très fluide + une expérience collaborative.

L’expérience


Nous avons abordé la création de cette expérience d’abord comme immersion avec une approche cinématographique. Gravity et Appolo 13 ont été des sources d’inspiration pour construire un scénario efficace et très compréhensible. L’objectif principal étant de donner du rythme et d’amplifier les sensations.

Dans cette dynamique nous avons travaillé sur plusieurs dimensions. La musique tient une place particulière pour créer des atmosphères et intensifier les émotions. La structure même du scénario alterne les phases pour maintenir l’implication des joueurs :  prise en main et première manipulation sereines, contemplation, catastrophe, « stress » autour de la réalisation des missions d’urgence. Le gameplay a aussi été guidé par cette volonté en mixant précision, agilité, réflexion, tir. L’objectif étant d’offrir une expérience riche sur tous les plans.

Un des autres enjeux a été de gérer le déplacement des astronautes de manière naturelle et en évitant tout motion sickness. Différentes techniques ont été appliquées pour atteindre ce résultat : vitesse de déplacement, douceur du parcours, spline matérialisant le chemin de déplacement.

Bien sûr la qualité graphique a été aussi au centre de notre attention pour proposer une immersion la plus aboutie possible. L’Unreal Engine a été notre fidèle compagnon comme toujours pour ses capacités de rendu. Mais cette qualité n’est rien sans une fluidité constante. Objectif 90 fps rempli. Une des clés complémentaires pour éviter le motion sickness.

Techniquement le jeu tourne en réseau local pour des questions de sécurité et stabilité. Cela été un point technique particulier en développement car les briques logicielles existantes sont basées sur un réseau web, il a donc fallu redévelopper des briques logicielles dédiées.

Le backoffice


C’est la partie immergée de l’iceberg mais au combien stratégique. En effet le projet I-Way se caractérise par l’exploitation massive du jeu avec un maximum de souplesse : 18 boxs pouvant tourner en même temps avec des combinaisons d’équipe aléatoires de 1 à 6 joueurs. Nous avons développé un backoffice sur-mesure pour répondre à cette demande spécifique qui tourne sur un réseau local comme le jeu.

Il permet entre autres de créer et de lancer les sessions de jeux, d’entrer de manière invisible pour les game manager dans la session jeu pour aider un joueur demandant de l’aide, de générer des statistiques automatiques envoyées par mail, de gérer le parc machine (allumage, extinction, heure d’utilisation). Cette solution complète est la clé de voûte permettant une exploitation en nombre quotidienne facilitée.

 

System Requirements
Game Details
Game Poster
Poster

tetxte de  détail  poster

Languages
Login
Loading...
Sign Up

New membership are not allowed.

Loading...